Manual Upgrade WordPress Installation via FTP – in 5 Easy Steps

I have to admit, although I was afraid of the effects of doing this, I still did it and it worked… But be forewarned, always BACKUP your WordPress installation and probably follow all of the WordPress Upgrade Instruction steps just in case. Here’s what I did:

  1. I used the WordPress Database Backup Plugin
  2. I downloaded the latest WordPress Version to my desktop
  3. Following the Upgrade Instructions that read: “DO NOT DELETE these folders and files:”
  4. Following the instructions in #3, all I did was delete from the folders on my desktop (not online): the ‘wp-content’ folder
  5. Uploaded the rest to my WordPress Installation directory
  6. All Done

Once again, be forewarned, this technically could cause a lot of problems, especially because I didn’t deactivate a single plugin, but it worked for me.

0 Responses to “Manual Upgrade WordPress Installation via FTP – in 5 Easy Steps”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Adam Hirsch Flickr Photos

1345

1343

1344

1342

1340

1339

1338

1341

1337

1334

More Photos

Del.icio.us Adam Hirsch


